Category Archives: Doom Force Special

Doom Patrol Vol. 6: Planet Love

Doom Patrol Vol. 6: Planet Love
By Grant Morrison (writer), Richard Case, Sean Phillips, Steve Pugh, Ian Montgomery, Paris Cullins, Duke Mighten and Ken Steacy with Stan Woch, Brad Vancata, Walter Simonson, Ray Kryssing, Mark McKenna and Brian Bolland (artists)
Published by DC Comics/Vertigo
Originally released January 2008

Cover price: $19.99
Format: Soft cover, color, standard-size
ISBN 1401216242

Synopsis from publisher:
Legendary writer Grant Morrison (ALL STAR SUPERMAN, BATMAN) finishes his fractured remake of this 1960s misfit super-team in this volume collecting DOOM PATROL #58-63 and DOOM FORCE SPECIAL #1. Along the way, the Doom Patrol must face new challenges: Danny the Street meets his cosmic destiny, the bizarre hero known as Rebis battles the Candlemaker, and Crazy Jane attempts to find her place in the world.


This publication is the sixth and final volume in a series reprinting the second Doom Patrol comic book series. All material in this publication was written by Grant Morrison and illustrated by Richard Case and Stan Woch. Issue #58 was illustrated by Sean Phillips. Issue #57 included additional inking by Mark McKenna. Doom Force Special #1 was illustrated by Steve Pugh, Ian Montgomery, Richard Case, Paris Cullins, Duke Mighten and Ken Steacy with Brad Vancata, Walter Simonson, Ray Kryssing, Mark McKenna and Ken Steacy. The cover for this publication was created by Brian Bolland.

The remainder of the second Doom Patrol comic book series, which ended with issue #87 (1995), has not been collected or reprinted. Rachel Pollack took over as writer for the series with issue #64. Richard Case and Stan Woch remained as the artistic team until issue #66. Linda Medley provided additional art for issue #65, and then took over the art for the comic book series with Graham Higgins starting with issue #67. Scot Eaton and Tom Sutton stepped in for issue #70. Sutton replaced Higgins as inker with issue #71. Gene Fama filled in as inker for issue #73. Ted McKeever stepped in as series artist from issue #75 to issue #87, the series’ finale. Arnold and Jacob Pander stepped in to illustrate issue #80. Jamie Tolagson and Matt Howarth filled in for issue #83. Doom Patrol Annual #2, released in 1993, was illustrated by Mark Wheatley.

A Doom Patrol one-shot comic book was released in 1997 as part of the Tangent Comics event. It was written by Dan Jurgens and illustrated by Sean Chen with Kevin Conrad and Ray Kryssing. It was reprinted in Tangent Comics Vol. 2.

A third Doom Patrol comic book series began at the end of 2001 and lasted for 22 issues. It was written by John Arcudi and illustrated by Tan Eng Huat, except for issues #13 and #14 by artist Seth Fisher, and issue #20 by artist Rick Geary. This series has never been collected or reprinted.

A fourth Doom Patrol comic book series ran from 2004 to 2006 for 18 issues. It was written and illustrated by John Byrne with inks by Doug Hazlewood. Terry Austin inked issues #13 and #14. This series has never been collected or reprinted.


  1. Doom Patrol #58 (1992)
  2. Doom Patrol #59 (1992)
  3. Doom Patrol #60 (1992)
  4. Doom Patrol #61 (1992)
  5. Doom Patrol #62 (1992)
  6. Doom Patrol #63 (1993)
  7. Doom Force Special #1 (1992)